Classic Winners 2018

2018 Landmark Equine Classic Champion

2018 Landmark Equine Classic Champion

Ben Hall riding SECRET TIME owned by Ken Frost.

The Classic saw a particularly hotly contested final – only 4 points separated the top 10 combinations and spectators were on the edge of their seats.

Ben Hall and Ken Frost’s gelding “Secret Time” (One Time Royalty x Unumgar My Secret) led from start to finish, heading into the final on a 182. They added an 89 to not one, but two 91s from the first rounds to edge ahead of Darrin Jones on “Players Garter” (Reys Ya Garter x Bullunbud Players Hicky) and Troy Clarke on the Sadler & Clarkes stallion “Eagle Hustler” (Hazelwood Conman x Kirkbys Stud Bonita) by just 1 point in the total aggregate scores to nab the title of 2018 Landmark Classic Campdraft Champions.

“Secret Time” was purchased for $5,500 at the 2015 Sale from The Sutherland Trust and was Lot 89 in the 2018 Classic Sale, selling for $20,000 to Britnee Breneger on Thursday.

Also on the Classic leaderboard and only a couple of points from the front runners were equal 4/5th Peter O’Neill on Craig McNabbs “Bulla Phoenix” (top priced gelding at the 2017 Classic Sale) and Steve Comiskey on Brock & Caroline Heumiller’s “Mr Sylvester” – both on 268, 6th Pete Comiskey on his “Gypsy Lights” on 267, equal 7-11th Tom Williamson on Rebecca Cadzows “Alreys Moore”, Glen Peterson on Brandan & Bronwyn Haldens “Kinarra La Luna”, Mat Holz on Glen Stephensons “Paris Reims” and Tony Mortimer on Gemma Tapp’s “Token Sometimes Blonde” – all on 263.