Category Archives: Classic Winners 2015

Evan Hiscock riding THE RANCH MAGIC BAR 

This popular event is now in it’s second year and Victorian young gun Evan Hiscock riding THE RANCH MAGIC BAR took out top honours. Final score of 89 with Total Agg 180, only two points ahead of equal second place, Ben McNaughton riding THE RANCH JANNALI, also a final score of 89 with a Total Agg of 178 and Zac Jackson riding DENNYS ACRES with a final score of 88.

Mat Holz riding BULLA TAMBORINE owned by Peter Aposto.

The great concept of the Landmark Classic Campdraft was a fairytale competition for Victorian duo Mat Holz & Peter Aposto winning the $35,000 cheque with the top price mare of 2014, Bulla Tamborine. Peter was impressed with dark brown mare last year before the sale and showed her to his trainer Mat, of very few words Mat on seeing her gave the nod and hasn’t that nod paid off this year. Nail biting classic with the biggest entries in the drafts history came down to the first runoff between Mat and Pete Comiskey riding Ervines Just Jim. Mat and Bulla Tamborine put around their run off for 87 to take out the Classic Draft. Someone who is always conservative with his emotions, Mat was clearly delighted with the win doing a lap of honor in front of a huge crowd on Friday night at the Presentations.

2015 Prydes EasiFeeds Australian Performance Horse Challenge Winner

Felicity Burton riding JR ELSOLA REY owned by Felicity and Karl Burton.

Another fantastic initiative from Landmark Equine is the Performance Horse Challenge, this year with new sponsors Prydes Easifeeds from Gunnedah. The challenge combines both dry and wet work patterns and this year was judged by Tony Mortimer and Peter Shumack, like the Classic was the closest competition in it’s 3 year history.

In a final dominated by equine greats such as two time Gold Cup winner Ben Hall, current Warwick Gold Cup Stallion winner Michael Wilson and Non Pro Futurity winner Amelia Servin, it was the crowd favourite Felicity Burton aboard her magnificent mare JR Elsola Rey (RS Chisim x Jenny Wren) who took out the hotly contested final of the Prydes EasiFeed Performance Horse Challenge and in doing so took home the $15,000 custom made Navaho Trailer and $8,000 winners cheque.

Felicity and her husband Carl purchased JR Elsola Rey in 2012 for $5,000 from Victorian Tony Soffra and were immediately thrilled by the foundation that was put on the mare that competed last year in the Challenge but was bought along slowly with this year’s competition in mind.
Felicity considers last night’s challenge to be one of her proudest moments and is on the hunt for another prospect to challenge and draft at the following Classic’s commenting that the concept along with the sponsorship from Prydes Easifeed and Navaho is second to none.
At only .04 of a point separating first and second was Michael Wilson on his gelding Ocean Expo by resident sire Soda Justice out of Smart Little Argyle bred by the Field family and purchased for $7,500 in 2012.  Expo ran 6th in the challenge last year and this year took home $4000 in cash plus prizes.

Hugh Miles riding Conductor

With what could be described as almost a perfect set of scores, Hugh Miles riding CONDUCTOR have taken the title of the 2015 Champions of the Merial Stallion Shootout. Two 90 points scores in the first two rounds and a 24 in the cutout meant that Hugh remained consistent and it paid off. Just pipped by half a point was Warwick Lawerence riding DESTINATIONS UNKNOWN owned by Lyn Lyons who scored 90/90 and 23.5 with a Total Agg 203.5

Third place went to Southern NSW drafter, Simon Dodwell on the impressive Wallabah Excel with a 89/90/23 combination for a Total Agg 202.

Glen Peterson riding GIBS WITNESS 

Glen Peterson riding GIBS WITNESS placed themselves ahead of the quality pack of Masters horses with a final score of 91 and Total Agg of 180. On 177 Total Agg was Wayne Bean from the NT riding CEDAR DOWNS DUCHESS, placed second with a final score of 86.

QLD’s Noel Chiconi placed equal third on 172 riding PEPTOS PERFECTION with a final score of 89, sharing the third place with Nebos own Pete Comiskey who had a great final run with 91.