Classic Winners 2019

2019 Landmark Equine Classic Champion

2019 Landmark Equine Classic Champion

Wyatt Young riding NASHVILLE NIGHTMAN owned by Marg Hinde, Royce Howard & Jason Bower

Then the 2019 Landmark Classic Campdraft saw another hotly contested final, which had spectators on the edge of their seats. The Classic Ladies Foundation Ambassadors led the 29 finalists into the arena, Australian and Landmark Equine flags flying. Emma Irene performed a beautiful rendition of the national anthem on horseback, a very ceremonial and special moment for all present. Then the action kicked off, and Warwick Lawrence had taken an early lead with an 87 on Craig and Helen Batterham’s mare “Hunter View Royal Chic” (Hesa Catty Chic x Cedar Downs Royal Oak). However Wyatt Young aboard “Nashville Nightman” – a 5 year old Conman x Docs Nightlife (Docs Spinifex) stallion owned by Marg Hinde, Royce Howard & Jason Bower – was hot on his heels with an 86, resulting in a shared 262 aggregate and a nail biting run off to come.

Warwick drew the first run, working hard with a tricky beast and coming so close…but narrowly missing the gate which meant he had to settle for 2nd place this year. It all came down to Wyatt Young aboard Nashville Nightman and the pair laid out a textbook run for a tidy 88 and the 2019 Classic Champion title. What an amazing accomplishment for Wyatt, a young local trainer, to win our two biggest incentive events of the year – and in the same week at that!

“Nashville Nightman” was bred by Trevor & Vanessa Nash of Cassillis, NSW and was sold at the 2017 Landmark Classic Sale for $8,500. Congratulations also to Trevor & Vanessa, who took home a custom Jaye Hall bronze and the $5,000 Breeders incentive!

Also on the Classic leaderboard and not far behind the leaders were 3rd – Will Durkin on Todd Trengove’s “Bobadil Exotic Acres” with 261, =4th/5th – Jason Wanstall on the Great Southern Syndicates “Ervines Dundee” and Peter Black on Leanne Comiskeys “Lonesome Dove Chief” with 260, 6th – Ben Hall on Ken Frost’s “Teledega Night” with 259, =7th/8th – Pete Comiskey on Bryony Puddicombe’s “Nashvale Roy Ell Destiny” and Wade Miles on “Riverview Ita” with 257 then =9th/10th – Hugh Miles on Ian & Carol Clarkes “Secret Plains Maxwell” and Wally Rea on “One Moore Metallic”, with 256.